Clemson University Clemson, South Carolina

MINUTES

of the meeting of

THE CLEMSON UNIVERSITY

BOARD OF TRUSTEES

Held in the Board Room, Sikes Hall

February 24, 1979

The Board convened at 8:30 a.m. with the following members present: Paul W. McAlister, Chairman, presiding; Louis P. Batson, Jr., Robert R. Coker, T. Kenneth Cribb, W. G. DesChamps, Jr., William N. Geiger, Jr., Lewis F. Holmes, Thomas B. McTeer, Jr., Buck Mickel, Paul Quattlebaum, Jr., James C. Self, D. Leslie Tindal, James M. Waddell, Jr. and Joseph B. McDevitt, Secretary.

The Chairman announced that the sole purpose of the meeting was to consider a matter of employment. This being a matter specifically authorized by the Freedom of Information Act for consideration in a meeting closed to the public, the Chairman asked for a motion that the Board go into Executive Session. The motion was made, seconded, and carried unanimously.

The Board went into Executive Session at 8:40 a.m.

The meeting was reopened to the public at 10:15 a.m. The Chairman announced that the Board had unanimously elected Dr. Bill L. Atchley to be the ninth president of Clemson University, succeeding Dr. Robert Cook Edwards effective July 1, 1979.

The meeting was adjourned at 10:30 a.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Joseph B. McDevitt

Secretary of the Board of Trustees