Clemson University Clemson, South Carolina

MINUTES

of the meeting of

THE CLEMSON UNIVERSITY BOARD OF TRUSTEES

Held in Room 201, Sikes Hall and The Alumni Center Clemson, South Carolina

Monday, October 14, 1985

The Board convened at 10:00 A.M. with the following members present: Louis P. Batson, Jr., Chairman, presiding; Billy L. Amick, James E. Bostic, Jr., J. J. Britton, Robert R. Coker, Fletcher C. Derrick, Jr., W. G. DesChamps, William N. Geiger, Jr., Paul W. McAlister, Thomas B. McTeer, Jr., Buck Mickel, James C. Self, and Hugh J. Clausen, Secretary

Trustees Emeriti Present: Paul Quattlebaum and D. Leslie Tindal

- 1. The roll was called.
- 2. The Board voted unanimously to go into executive session.
- 3. The Board adjourned its executive session meeting at 11:45 A.M.
- 4. The Board reconvened in open session in the Alumni Center at 2:00 P.M. with all above-named persons present with the exception of Mr. Mickel.
- 5. The Board unanimously approved a Resolution praising the Faculty (Attachment 1).
- 6. The Board unanimously elected Dr. Max Lennon as the eleventh President of Clemson University.

- 7. The Chairman announced that the Board also voted unanimously in the executive session to elect Dr. Lennon.
 - 8. The Board adjourned at 2:30 P.M.

Respectfully submitted,

Hugh/J. Clausen Secretary of the Board of Trustees