06/24/88

## CLEMSON UNIVERSITY BOARD OF TRUSTEES

## TELECONFERENCE

## JUNE 24, 1988

## BOARD ROOM, 201 SIKES HALL CLEMSON UNIVERSITY, CLEMSON, SC

The Chairman called the meeting to order at 10:10 a.m. with the following telephonically present: Louis P. Batson, Jr., Chairman, Bill L. Amick, James E. Bostic, Jr., Fletcher C. Derrick, Jr., W. G. DesChamps, Jr., William N. Geiger, Jr., P. W. McAlister, James C. Self, B. Marion Smith, Jr., James M. Waddell, Jr., and Hugh J. Clausen, Secretary

Trustees Absent: Thomas B. McTeer, Jr., and Buck Mickel

Trustees Elect Present: Louis Lynn

Members of the Administration Present: President Max Lennon, David Larson, Nick Lomax, David Maxwell

Members of the Media Present : Cathy Sams, Clemson University News Services; Jenny Munro Greenville News; Ann Hartung, Anderson Independent; Susan Turner-Lewis, Clemson University News Services

1. Cathy Sams was asked to introduce the media present.

2. Based on a recommendation made by the Honorary DegreeCommittee, the Secretary presented for President Lennon a suggestion to award the Honorary Doctor of Laws Degree to Dr. Paul F. Oreffice at the August 6th graduation ceremony. The Secretary read a biographical sketch on Dr. Oreffice. Dr. Oreffice is presently Chairman of the Board of the Dow Chemical Company.

Mr. DesChamps moved, and Mr. Amick seconded, that the recommendation be adopted. The vote was unanimous.

3. The second action item was the sale of a house bequeathed by Mrs. Thelma Farrar. Mrs. Farrar left the rest and residue of her estate to Clemson University "for a fund to be known as the Speck Farrar Scholarship Fund, the income from which is to go to worthy Clemson University students who would not be able to attend Clemson University without financial aid."

The following motion was made by Mr. Smith: Subject to approval of the South Carolina Budget and Control Board, the Clemson University Board of Trustees authorizes the University to contract with the South Carolina National Bank to handle the sale of the Thelma Farrar house on behalf of the University with the stipulation that it not be sold for less than its current appraised value without further Board approval. The Board also authorizes the Chairman of the Board to sign all necessary documents in order to consummate this transaction.

The motion was seconded by Dr. Derrick and passed unanimously.

4. David Larson presented three items for action. First, material was sent to the Board of Trustee Members and members of the media with respect to tuition and fee increases. An increase in tuition and fees of 6.2% (\$65.00 per semester) for resident undergraduates and 13.6% (\$350.00 per semester) increase for non-residents is being recommended by the Administration to off-set shortfalls in full formula funding in recent years and to help fund state mandated employee pay raises and service debts on capital construction and maintenance.

A motion was made by Mr. McAlister and seconded by Mr. Amick to approve the proposed rate increases as outlined. The motion passed unanimously.

The second item was a recommendation to the Board of Trustees to approve, for next year, the continuation of the \$120.00 per credit hour fee for the MBA program at Furman University. The fee remains the same as last year .

A motion was made by Mr. Self and seconded by Mr. Geiger to approve the \$120.00 per semester hour fee. The motion passed unanimously.

The final item was a request to the Board of Trustees from the Administration to continue operating under the proposed budget submitted earlier until a detailed budget can be approved at the August Board meeting. This detailed budget will be sent to the members of the Board of Trustees prior to that meeting. A motion was made by Mr. DesChamps to approve this request, seconded by Mr. Amick and passed unanimously.

5. At 10:18 a.m. a motion was made by Senator Waddell and seconded by Mr. DesChamps to adjourn the meeting.

Respectfully submitted,

La. Claure

Hugh J. Clausen Secretary of the Board of Trustees