## CLEMSON UNIVERSITY CLEMSON, SOUTH CAROLINA

## MINUTES of the meeting of

## THE CLEMSON UNIVERSITY BOARD OF TRUSTEES

IPTAY TICKET OFFICE COMPLEX CLEMSON UNIVERSITY, CLEMSON, SC

Friday, March 31, 1989

After notification as required by the Freedom of Information Act, the meeting was called to order by the Chairman at 2:05 p.m. with the following present: Louis P. Batson, Jr., Chairman, presiding; Bill L. Amick, J. J. Britton, Fletcher C. Derrick, Jr., W. G. DesChamps, Jr., Louis B. Lynn, P. W. McAlister, Thomas B. McTeer, Jr., Buck Mickel, James C. Self, Senator James M. Waddell, Jr., Allen P. Wood, and Hugh J. Clausen, Secretary

Trustee Absent: Marion Smith -- It was requested that the records show that Mr. Smith was truly missed at this gathering of the Board of Trustees.

Members of the Administration Present: President Max Lennon, Nick Lomax, David Larson, Milt Wise, Gary Ransdell, David Maxwell, Jay Goque, Ben Anderson

Others Present: President Emeritus Walter Cox, Almeda Jacks, Jamey Rootes, Jack Wilson, Ron Nowaczyk, Gordon Halfacre, James Sweeney, Jim Daniels

The Chairman asked that Margaret Pridgen introduce the media present: Jenny Munro (<u>Greenville News</u>), Ron Barnett (<u>Anderson Independent</u>), Andy Cauthen (<u>TIGER</u>), Jack McKenzie (University News Services)

The Secretary introduced Ms. Leah Garrett who is the new Executive Assistant to the Vice President for Administration.

The Chairman introduced Dr. Horace Fleming. Dr. Fleming made a brief presentation on activities surrounding the dedication ceremony of the Strom Thurmond Institute.

Minutes of the February 4, 1989 Board meeting were approved. Minutes of the February 20, 1989 teleconference were approved with one amendment: Dr. J. J. Britton will be added to the list as present during the teleconference.

The meeting of the next Board meeting is scheduled for July 15, 1989. The time and location will be announced at a later date.

The Chairman asked that the Secretary read the resolutions of appreciation for the students participating in the 1989 olympics. The students recognized were: Mitzi Kremer (Bronze Medalist--U.S. Swim Team); Michael Milchin (Gold Medalist--U.S. Baseball Team); Owen Casey (Ireland Tennis Team); and Bruce Murray (U.S. Soccer Team).

Mr. DesChamps moved that the resolutions be adopted as read. Senator Waddell seconded and the vote was unanimous.

The Secretary presented Mr. Owen Casey with his Resolution of Appreciation. The other students were not present.

The Secretary presented the audit report. Noted during the report was on going investigations of two areas where money shortages were recorded during audits. Those areas were Student Development and the Library.

The Chairman recognized Mr. McTeer to present the Budget and Finance Committee report.

Mr. McTeer stated that the Budget and Finance Committee did not meet prior to this Board meeting. Mr. Jack Wilson was recognized to present an update on permanent improvement projects. (Material was submitted to the Board in advance and a copy is on file.)

Mr. Mark Wright briefed the Board concerning four sites that were considered for the new conference center. Site C, which is adjacent from Hartwell Lake and also known as Lewis Field, was unanimously approved by the Conference Center Steering Committee. The recommendation was presented to the Facilties Planning Committee which also recommended approval. No Board action was taken.

Mr. Wright reported that the design competition for the performing arts center went exceptionally well. Finalists will be announced at Lee Hall Gallery on April 7th at 11:00 a.m.

In the absence of Mr. Marion Smith, the Chairman recognized Dr. Fletcher Derrick to present the Educational Policy Committee report. Dr. Derrick stated that the EPC did not meet prior to today's meeting; however, one action item was submitted to the Committee by mail ballot which requires Board approval. Dr. Maxwell stated the EPC Committee recommends granting departmental

status to the unit of Experimental Statistics. The unit has been functioning as an academic department for some time. No cost would be involved in this change.

Mr. McAlister moved that the recommendation of the EPC to grant departmental status to the unit of Experimental Statistics be approved. Dr. Derrick seconded and the motion was unanimous.

Dr. Ron Nowaczyk presented a brief summary of activities during his year as President of the Faculty Senate. Dr. Nowaczyk thanked the Board for their support during his tenure and then introduced Dr. Gordon Halfacre who will assume office as President of the Faculty Senate on April 11, 1989.

The Chairman recognized Mr. P. W. McAlister to present the Institutional Advancement Committee report. The Committee did not meet prior to this Board meeting. Mr. McAlister asked that Dr. Gary Ransdell give a brief update on activities in his area. (see Attachment A)

Mr. Jim Self was recognized by the Chairman to present the Student Affairs Committee report. The Committee did not meet prior to this Board meeting. Mr. Nick Lomax gave a brief update on the area of Student Affairs.

Mr. Jamey Rootes was introduced to give a summary of his activities as Student Body President. Mr. Rootes thanked the Board for their support during his tenure. He also indicated that an election run-off would be held on Tuesday, April 4th for a new Student Body President.

Mr. Lomax presented an admissions report. He also reported that the Clemson Scholars Program was a great success.

The Secretary presented the following mail action ballots for ratification.

- A. Remodeling of Restrooms in Norris Hall February 16, 1989 Awarding of a contract to Clayton Construction Company, Inc., of Spartanburg, SC in the amount of \$274,000.
- B. Use of University Seal on the Clemson University Visitor Medal - February 28, 1989 Approval of use of seal on medals to be distributed by members of the Administration, Deans, Directors and Department Heads to honor distinguished campus visitors.

Mr. Jim Self moved that both items be ratified as a package. Dr. Derrick seconded and the vote was unanimous.

At 3:00 p.m. Dr. Louis Lynn moved that the Board go into executive session to discuss contractural matters related to research initiatives. Mr. Mickel seconded and the vote was

unanimous. The Chairman announced that no votes or other actions would be taken during Executive Session. The media was invited to stay if they chose to do so; however, the meeting would be adjourned immediately following Executive Session.

The meeting reconvened in Open Session at 3:45 p.m.

The Chairman announced that no votes or actions were taken during the Executive Session.

At 3:46 p.m. Mr. McAlister moved that the meeting be adjourned. Dr. Britton seconded and the vote was unanimous.

Respectfully submitted,

Mugh J. Clausen Hugh J. Clausen

Secretary of the Board of Trustees